Skip to content

Grilled Vegetable Platter (to go with grilled brick chicken)

July 12, 2013

I decided to get adventures and grill a whole, flattened chicken.  I got so wrapped up in making the chicken, that I totally forgot to take pictures.  Oops.  It was delicious, I promise, even without the photo evidence. We’ll have to repeat that recipe on another nice Summer night for a separate post.  But, really, the grilled vegetables were the star of the meal and so they are getting their own show.

IMG_4790

It’s not the first time that I’ve grilled onions, scallions or zucchini of course.  Grilling avocados and limes was a first though.  It was great with the chicken.  I also liked having a platter of vegetables to just pick from.

This is where we started.  Nothing like some fresh vegetables all washed and ready to get thrown on the grill!  (The mint was for drinks)

IMG_4783

What was the best part of this meal was the leftovers.  The chicken, grilled vegetables and avocado made great soft tacos the next day for dinner.  All we added was tomatoes, cilantro and tortillas.  I like easy leftovers.

There is no real recipe here., but  here is the source of my inspiration.  I just brushed everything with olive oil and threw it on the grill.  Save the avocado and lime for last – they grill in about 30 seconds.  I also did a cool trick with the onions.  I soaked wood toothpicks in water for about a half hour.  I then put them in the whole onion in a line around half of the onion equally spaced and then when I sliced the onion, the rings stayed intact.  It made grilling way easier.  Next time I’ll take a picture.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

