Skip to content

Fresh Peach Pie

September 14, 2009

IMG_4022

We used to make this pie growing up and I haven’t seen (or tried) one like it since.  I’ve been telling Erin about it for years and I finally got around to buying a box of peaches to make it.  After all of the talking up of the pie that I’ve done over the years, I hoped that Erin would love it as much as I do – – – and since she’s not a huge fan of pies, I knew that the chances were slim. But surprise – she LOVED it – and now I’ve been tasked with making another one for her family before the fast approaching end of the peach season.  If you’re anywhere near large, juicy peaches, I suggest you make one too for the end of Summer!  Just make sure you have some extra hands around for the peeling of the peaches, it’s a little lonely for one person.

IMG_3893

I definitely recommend making your own pie crust instead of using the pre-made ones at the grocery store.  This recipe is really easy and seems like its hard to mess up.  It may not look store bought, but I like the homemade look of an amateur pie crust!

Fresh Peach Pie

Adapted from Betty Crocker’s Fresh Strawberry PieIMG_4027

Ingredients:

Pie Crust

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup plus 1 tbsp shortening
2 to 3 tbsps cold water

Pie Filling

10 large, ripe peaches
1 cup granulated sugar
2 tbsp cornstarch
1/2 cup water

Directions:

In a medium bowl, mix flour and salt. Cut in shortening, using pastry blender (or pulling 2 table knives through ingredients in opposite directions), until particles are size of small peas. Sprinkle with cold water, 1 tablespoon at a time, tossing with fork until all flour is moistened and pastry almost cleans side of bowl (1 to 2 teaspoons more water can be added if necessary).

Gather pastry into a ball. Shape into flattened round on lightly floured surface. Wrap in plastic wrap; refrigerate about 45 minutes or until dough is firm and cold, yet pliable. This allows the shortening to become slightly firm, which helps make the baked pastry more flaky. If refrigerated longer, let pastry soften slightly before rolling.

Heat oven to 475°F. With floured rolling pin, roll pastry into round 2 inches larger than upside-down 9-inch glass pie plate. Fold pastry into fourths; place in pie plate. Unfold and ease into plate, pressing firmly against bottom and side. Trim overhanging edge of pastry 1 inch from rim of pie plate.** Fold and roll pastry under, even with plate; flute as desired. Prick bottom and side of pastry thoroughly with fork. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until light brown. Cool on cooling rack.  The pie won’t be going back in the oven, so you want to make sure that the bottom of the pie is fully cooked and lightly browned otherwise it will be too moist once the filling is on top.

In 2-quart saucepan, mix sugar and cornstarch.  Set aside.

Begin peeling your peaches and then slicing them into wedges.  You will want to work a little quickly so the peaches don’t begin to brown.   You will need about 1 cup of mashed peaches, so as you are slicing the wedges,  if you come across any over-ripe (but not rotten) parts of the peach, just put them aside in a bowl.

In small bowl, mash enough peaches to measure 1 cup.  Gradually stir in 1/2 cup water and mashed strawberries to the sugar/cornstarch mix.  Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens and boils. Boil and stir 1 minute; cool.

As the glaze is cooling, arrange the peach slices in the cooked pie crust.  You can arrange them in layers or, as I do, just dump them all in at once.  There won’t be a second crust, so you want to make sure that you pile the peaches high into a peak.  Drizzle the peach glaze on top.  Cover and refrigerate for at least an hour.  Enjoy!!

** Added bonus.  With the extra pastry trim, press it into a ramekin to make a mini pie for the baker!  That way you can get your hands on some pie before dinner and no one will be the wiser!!



One Comment leave one →
  1. Lynda Tortarolo permalink
    September 14, 2009 6:09 pm

    The first time I made a Fresh Peach Pie, I, too search for a recipe. My cookbook, Better Homes, only had one for a Fresh Strawberry Pie. I had made the strawberry version, and figured if it worked with strawberries, why not with peaches. So I made 2 of them (that was a BUNCH of peaches. Lucky me, my in-laws grew them and had just given me a whole bag of them!) I served them to my Bunco group who I had a hard time convincing that I had actually made them. The funniest part of this to me, as I read from the Brooklyn Belly is that I was 8 1/2 months pregnant with Nicole.

Leave a Reply

