Skip to content

S’mores Brownies

June 17, 2009

2 smores browniesI was looking for an easy dessert to make and preferably one that would use up some food in the cabinets.  I came across this recipe for s’mores brownies.  Being that Nicole is a big s’mores fan, I thought this would be a home run.  Nicole absolutely loves s’mores.  Every time she sees a fire she reminds me of this.  If she could she put a big fire pit up on the roof and make s’mores every night she would.  Thankfully, that’s not possible.  She’ll have to settle for the occasional bonfire…or some brownies.

IMG_3637

My advice would be to underbake the brownies.  That was my intention but I ended up baking them slightly longer than I would’ve wanted.  I know, I can’t cook boxed brownies correctly?  Geez, what’s wrong with me?  Anyway, they still came out fine but I just prefer them a little underbaked.

I used Betty Crocker Fudge Brownie mix.  Yes, the boring, old school one.  I thought I should go as basic as possible.  In retrospect, I think I would try a different kind of mix next time like one with extra fudge or dark chocolate or something like that.  Just to give it a little something extra. What the heck, I’d also try semi-sweet chocolate instead of milk chocolate.  That could be good too.  Here’s a tip:  when you remove the brownies with marshmallows from the broiler, drizzle with the melted chocolate right away before the marshmallow hardens.  That way you can marble them easier.  The brownies taste best warm so enjoy them right out of the oven!

IMG_3650

S’mores Brownies

Adapted from Fahrenheit 350°

Ingredients:

Your favorite brownie mix

Graham crackers

Mini-marshmallows

Melted chocolate of your choice (I used Ghriadelli milk chocolate)

Directions:

Make the brownie batter.  Pour half into the pan (I used a 9″x9″ pan) and place the graham crackers side by side covering the batter.  Do not overlap the graham crackers.  Pour the rest of the batter on top, covering the crackers, and bake.

When the brownies are done and removed from the oven, turn on the broiler.   Cover the entire pan with the mini-marshmallows and put under the broiler until browned.  If you like the burnt marshmallow taste leave the pan under the broiler a little longer.

Remove the pan from the oven and drizzle with melted chocolate, marbling it with the marshmallow.

IMG_3672

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

