Skip to content

Frank Pepe Pizzeria Napoletana

May 31, 2009
tags:

Every May on our annual trek up to Cape Cod we plan on stopping off in New Haven.  It seems to all make sense when we get in the car but for some reason or another we’ve never followed through.  This year we made no excuses, got off I-95 and beat the rush to Frank Pepe’s.  

Frank Pepe Pizza outside

We went to the original New Haven location around 5pm.  It was very easy to get to once off the highway.  It’s in a cute little Italian section of the city about a few blocks long.  By 5:30pm the line was out the door and halfway down the block.  We were seated right away in the room with the ovens.  The place smelled amazing.  

I’ve heard so many good things about this place and I’ve read a ton of reviews so I my expectations were pretty high.  We ordered two small pies, the original tomato pie with mozzarella and the white clam pie.  I knew there was no way we could go there and not try the famous clam pie.  As for the regular pie order, I just feel like you can really tell a lot about the pizza place if they make a good plain pie.  Once you start loading on the toppings you may miss the basic quality of the pizza.  

Frank Pepe Clam Pie

Needless to say, we should have got the toppings.  I have to say, I wasn’t impressed.  Both pies were average.  The tomato pie was super thin which I think is a good thing, yet super oily.  The crust and the taste of the sauce really didn’t blow me away.  I’ve had regular pies from places that aren’t as noteworthy that I would rate much higher.  As for the clam pie, it wins points for originality but again wasn’t anything I would crave.  It was tasty, garlicky and salty.  I opted to order the pie without mozzarella based on the reviews I read.  I think I made the right choice but I wouldn’t mind giving it another go with the cheese.  I thought the pie was a little dry so maybe the cheese would’ve added to it.  

Frank Pepe tomato pie

All in all, I’m glad we finally tried Frank Pepe’s.  It was good enough, however, it doesn’t live up to the hype in my mind.  If I were to go again, I would definitely order pies with a lot of toppings, as they looked much more appealing.  

Another pizzeria down, many more to go. 

Frank Pepe Pizzeria Napoletana

157 Wooster Street, New Haven, CT

203-865-5762

One Comment leave one →
  1. Schildknecht permalink
    July 24, 2009 7:54 pm

    It’s been a few years, but I remember the regular cheese pie as being sublime. And the sausage was really good.

Leave a Reply

